The Jordan Bridge was initially built in the early 1900s and has historically served as the community of Jordan Bridge’s northern entrance. It allowed access for kids attending Jordan’s school as well as a quicker path to Arlington, which is located on the south bank of the river.
Jordan Bridge Park History
It was condemned in November 1972 owing to its poor condition, reconstructed in the “swinging bridge” style in the 1970s, and closed once again for repairs in the 1990s. The semi-solid building was rebuilt there by the Snohomish County Park Department.
The old Jordan Bridge formerly existed whereas the South Norfolk Jordan’s bridge (Jordan Bridges, Jordan bridge) now carries motorists far over the river.
Poindexter Street in South Norfolk, west of I-464, was the site of Jordan’s bridge construction, which spans the Southern Branch of the Elizabeth River. It is a Waddell & Harrington vertical lift drawbridge that was created by Kansas City, Missouri’s Harrington, Howard & Ash. Businessman Carl M. Jordan of South Norfolk, who together with his brother Wallace ran Jordan Brothers Lumber Co., planned the building and coordinated the finance. It was first named as the Norfolk-Portsmouth Bridge, and it cost $1.25 million to finish.
On August 24, 1928, Governor Harry F. Byrd attended a ceremony marking the bridge’s opening as a toll bridge. Many years later, Carl Jordan was honoured with a new bridge name. Additionally, he held the positions of general manager and executive vice president of the South Norfolk Bridge Commission, Inc., a nonprofit organisation established in 1944 to oversee the bridge.
Most people at the time believed that the bridge had done more than any other development since the first settlers’ arrival to alter the map of the Tidewater area. Since the early Colonial era, Norfolk and Portsmouth have only been connected by boats since Norfolk was almost an island. The Jordan’s bridge made it feasible to build the first uninterrupted route from Richmond to the coast and between Norfolk, South Norfolk (which is now a part of Chesapeake), and Portsmouth.
The City of Chesapeake now owns and maintains the bridge following the satisfaction of the Bridge Commission’s debt in 1977.
After a brief closure in 1994 for maintenance, the Jordan’s bridge (Jordan bridges, Jordan bridge) was reopened to traffic in December 1995 for a 50-cent toll. As the twenty-first century rolled around, the steel lift bridge was subjected to several harmful vessel hits and a growing number of mounting traffic restrictions. Due to structural degradation and a lack of financing for repairs, the Chesapeake City Council decided to permanently halt usage of the bridge on October 14, 2008, with effect from November 8. According to US Coast Guard requirements, Figg Bridge Developers presented designs for a new privately funded bridge that also called for demolishing the existing crossing. On January 27, 2009, Council unanimously authorised the proposals.
The outcome of that work is the current South Norfolk Jordan’s bridge (Jordan bridges, Jordan bridge), which opened to traffic in late October 2012 and is still privately owned and run. Many of the prior roadblocks were removed by the new bridge, including a permanent concrete design that prevented simultaneous rail, road, and maritime traffic via the congested river corridor. A substantial portion of land was returned to the City in 2014 for the Elizabeth River Park expansion when the bridge was raised and the toll booths, administrative, and maintenance facilities were demolished.
A copy of one of the bridge’s 833 concrete segments is presently on exhibit in the park, and the City is currently holding some historic artefacts from the original Jordan’s bridge (Jordan bridges, Jordan bridge) that will soon be put on display there for the benefit of park visitors.
Jordan’s Bridge | Jordan Bridges | Jordan Bridge Photos
What is the Jordan Bridge’s history?
It was originally named as the Norfolk-Portsmouth Bridge and cost $1.25 million to build. It opened as a toll bridge on August 24, 1928, with Governor Harry F. Byrd in attendance. Many years later, the bridge was renamed Carl Jordan Bridge.
Jordan Bridge is how tall?
Enjoy spectacular views of the Elizabeth River and industrial shipyards as you cross the 5,375-foot-long bridge and rise 167 feet above the waterline.
The Jordan Bridge is accessible by walk.
Enjoy the pavement for nothing. It is possible to access the trail throughout the day. Both EZ Pass and Pay by Plate require a toll to be paid for vehicular movement.